my favorite comment about the book so far

Over coffee with a friend and fellow church planter recently, I was given my favorite comment about the book so far. My friend is someone whom I would say is highly intellectual, and who reads a lot. For him to make a positive comment to me about the book, especially one along the lines of it being one of the most thought-provoking books he’s read in a long time, is something I really take to heart and appreciate. And while he did make that comment (about being thought-provoking), that is not my favorite comment I’ve heard about the book so far.

My friend said something else that really encouraged me, and that demonstrated that God had granted wisdom and answered my prayer for the focus and audience of the book. My friend said:

This is a book that I would give to both a lost friend as well as a person I would consider to be caught up in religion.

By lost, he simply meant, as Jesus used the word, someone who has not yet found their “way” in life (Jesus called Himself the way). By “caught up in religion,” he simply meant people stuck in religious ritualism and maybe even blinded by their own self-righteousness.

This is my favorite comment about the book so far for two reasons:

  1. because I intentionally tried to write the book for everyday people, whether lost or overly religious, not just for pastors or long-time church leaders.
  2. because I intentionally tried to write the book in such a way that a lost person would be encouraged by it and a self-righteous person would be challenged by it.

Thanks for the encouragement, bro. Your comment meant a lot to me.

Hope yall all will be encouraged by the book. And BY THE WAY – ALL DECEMBER SALES OF THE BOOK WILL BE GIVEN TO www.HelpEndLocalPoverty.com. So grab a copy today!

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

